Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

Happy Friday!

I don’t know where to start…. I am still getting used to coming here and posting, so I apologize for the 3 days since my last post.

I did an official “Sweat Pink” run this past Wednesday. I really am excited to be part of this community of awesome women! I forsee some really great things and opportunities! Since joining, I have had many of my girlfriends what they have to do to join. I am so happy to share this with them. Not only to be part of this with other women around the country but to have Sweat Pink sisters where I live makes it even better!

Three days since I planted my little starter garden, I have sprouts. I felt like a little kid at Christmas, I was so excited! I have a real good friend that is a master gardener, who said she will help me along as the grow and need to be transplanted.

We have lived here in Pensacola for a little over 4 months now. My husband works 6 days a week and tries to take a day during the week off, along with his Sunday off. Usually these days are busy doing things that are necessary, but as we get business take care of, more often these days off we can spend having fun. So yesterday was one of those fun days where we got to do some exploring of our new hometown. He has decided since we live close to the beach, we have to have a boat. So he is on the hunt for good deal on a boat. Which I don’t mind, because usually that means we will be close by the beach where the boat dealerships are. We decided to explore Ft. Pickens yesterday. Before going, we stopped at Peg Leg Pete’s, which is a very popular place for Pensacola Beach. I enjoyed the blackend mahi sandwich, which was extremely good! After filling our bellys, we headed down to Ft. Pickens. We bought the yearly pass, which was the sensible thing to do, seeing that it costs $8 per vehicle every visit. The two-lane road is 20mph because along this road, on both sides, are shorebird nesting areas and this is the season right now. They are protected by state and federal law. We did see several osprey nests. Those birds are amazing and beautiful. After finally getting to Ft. Pickens, a weird feeling came across me as we walked up to start the little walk around. There are quite a few of the original buildings still standing. Each have many different rooms and corridors. But again, I am not sure if what I was feeling was a presence or what. I believe in ghosts and such, so maybe that is why I felt what I did. It is definitely rich with stories, I can tell you that. Geronimo was held there as a prisoner for a period of time. It was really neat and I can not wait to take my boys when they come for the summer.

Cannons positioned everywhere.

 I definitely felt something here. I did not explore any closer.

My husband and a BIG cannon!

I am super nervous about the 10 miles trail race I do tomorrow morning. I will be running for the first time as a Oiselle team member and I just want to do the best I can. I have to keep reminding myself, it’s a trail run so my time will definitely not be great. I will focus on running the entire course without stopping and be happy with that.

Have a wonderful weekend! Good luck if you are racing this weekend!

Quote for the day:

Life is too short to wake up with regrets. Love the ones that treat you right, forget the ones that don’t! Believe everything happens for a reason. If you get a chance, take it. If it changes your life, let it. Nobody said it would be easy, they just said it would be worth it!~Bob Marley

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday!

  1. Love the shoe laces 🙂 And LOVE the quote!!

  2. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts on said:

    Love the laces 🙂 It’s been great connecting with everyone. Good luck for your race!!

Leave a Reply

