Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

Positive thoughts!

It is now four days until I have to drive my boys back to Tampa to their father’s house. It seems like they just got here. Time passed too quickly. But I can not dwell on that. I will think about the memories that we made and will make in the remaining four days.

Also, so many other things to start thinking about. Next Tuesday is the first meeting for the half marathon training group that I will be a part of. That means I am back on a training plan, woohoo! I decided to go with Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half Marathon Program. http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51132/Half-Marathon-Intermediate-Training-Program I haven’t used a training plan in over a year, so actually real excited to get started and see where my strengths and abilites lie.

This is me after my first half, November 2011, Pensacola Half Marathon, 2:14:50. I was so proud and overwhelmed with emotion. I just ran 13.1 miles, without stopping and did way better than I anticipated. Another reason I continued running. My thoughts were if I can do better than what I predicted on my first half, what can I possibly do on my second or any other race.  I have continued to progress with every race.

This also has influenced my decision to make the leap to train for a marathon. I think I have narrowed it down to the Run With Donna 26.2 in Jacksonville, FL on February 17, 2013.

I want my first marathon to be memorable and exciting. Everyone I have talked to says that this would be a great one to do. Click on the picture above to find out more information.

Not only will my training start again, I have decided to get serious about my nutrition also. I am seriously considering Paleo and clean eating. Not sure if they are the same, must do more research. I let my eating habits slide quite a bit this summer but I am committed to get back on track.

I wish everyone a fab week!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Positive thoughts!

  1. How funny, I used Hal Higdon’s intermediate training plan for my first 1/2 marathon (Rock and Roll NOLA 2012) and finished in 2:14:48! (Kinda creepy, almost.) Good luck with your upcoming Run for Donna; you can so do this!!

  2. Aww glad you had a nice visit with them! Best of luck to you in your training. 🙂

  3. Kimberly on said:

    Paleo and clean eating are not the same! If your training for a Full I would stick to clean eating. Definitely do your research and Jeff Galloway also has great information on running full and half marathons! I am currently looking at both! Good luck:)

  4. Yay for deciding to train for the marathon, have fun! Good luck with the half program too.

Leave a Reply

