Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

Running while sick…

I started to feel under the weather around Wednesday. Friday, I was coughing but felt better than I had. I did the 850 mile drive to Tampa and back and was in bed by 11pm. I got up at 4:45am, usual time, to meet some girls for a much needed run, about 8 miles. I started the run feeling pretty good and excited because I had not been more than 7 miles in a few months. Around 4.5 miles, I knew that this was not going to be pretty. I started having trouble with my breathing and coughing. Then around 6 or 6.5 miles I had to do walk/run intervals. Also felt like I was going to throw up. Man, it was definitely rough but I pushed through to the finish. I learned, I really don’t want to have another run like again. So I have done absolutely nothing but lay in bed, eat toast, chicken noodle soup, drinks lots of water, orange juice and green tea.

I did a little research and this is what I found.

The most important thing to remember about running when sick is that you should always err on the side of caution if given the choice. Taking a few days off from running or even scheduling an extra easy day instead of a hard workout is not going to ruin your fitness. Yes, I know runners are obsessive creatures, but two or three days off will not negatively impact your fitness – its been scientifically proven. Be smart and be patient, you’ll be much better off in the long run. Read more at http://runnersconnect.net/running-injury-prevention/running-when-sick/

Return to your running schedule with caution. Wait till your symptoms have subsided and your energy level is back to normal. Consider reducing the intensity of your workout to make sure your body has recovered. Pay attention to your body as you ease back into running. Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/520730-running-after-being-sick/#ixzz21OCS0sW1

I will have almost 2 and half days of complete rest before my next run on Tuesday morning where I plan to do a very easy 6 miles. I will definitely not try to get in a run, no matter how badly needed, next time I’m sick. Rest, rest and more rest is the best.

We took family pictures at Fort Pickens National Seashore Park. There were storms rolling in but we were able to get some real great shots before we got rained on.
Just a thought…
No matter how many times you revisit the past, there’s nothing new to see.  Focus on the next step.  Just because you’ve made mistakes doesn’t mean your mistakes get to make you.  Tame your inner critic, forgive yourself and move on.
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Running while sick…

  1. Awww, Regina! Just catching up on blog reading after my sickness and realizing we are both dealing with horrible colds and trying to figure out the smartest way to train through (or rest through) all of this! Glad I’m not alone here! 🙂 What’s up with these summer colds? Geesh!

Leave a Reply

