Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

Gearing up…

I have decided to take yet another day off from running. I coughed so much last night that I got absolutely no sleep and now my throat is a bit sore. I am coughing up stuff now, so I am hoping that means that my body is trying to get rid of this crud…

On a more pleasant and exciting note….tonight is the Half Marathon Training Kickoff Meeting with Running Wild, my local running store.

I will be participating as the Saturday Coach, which I am so excited about! My role is to be there to check everyone in before the long run, go along and make sure everyone stays safe and then make sure everyone makes it back. I’ll try my best to answer any questions that may come up. I plan to energize and motivate this group into having the best experience possible!

Which brings me to my own training… A couple of posts ago I said I chose my half marathon training plan, well, looks like I’m changing my mind on that one. And the funny thing is, I did this exact same thing when I trained for my first half. I ended up printing like 4 different plans before going with the right one. I started review this plan I printed, http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51132/Half-Marathon-Intermediate-Training-Program. It’s a great plan, but I think I need a little more this time. The thing is, I will be incorporating the half marathon training right into a full marathon training plan for my first full in February. So I think I will need to get in a few more miles in the half plan. There is a plethera of training plans out there and it is so hard to choose. I have decided to print a few out and make my own personalized plan. I will share that soon.

I want to share another picture of my beautiful family! I am so thankful for the love we share!

I would like to share a recipe for a snack that I have come to love, Kale Chips. If you have not tried them, you must! I am going to try a kicked up version today by adding a little paprika! This is what you need:

Two bunches kale (the fresher the better!)
1 tablespoon olive oil
Paprika

1   Preheat oven to 300°F.

2   Rinse and dry the kale. Remove the stems, and tear or cut into large pieces. In a bowl, toss with 2 tablespoons olive oil.

3  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper (optional, but it makes for easy cleanup!). Place leaves on the sheet in a single layer. Sprinkle with paprika, or other spice of choice (if you use another spice, you may want to add some kosher salt if it is not already included in your spice mix). Bake for about 20 minutes until crisp. Cool slightly. Enjoy!  Remember that the chips will be a bit fragile, so make sure to be careful when you store them.

Just a thought…

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Gearing up…

  1. I hope that you feel better soon 😦

  2. Feel better soon! And I need to try kale chips. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love them.

Leave a Reply

