Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

What makes me an athlete?

“I am an athlete. I may not be the best, but that is what I strive to be. I may never get there, but I will never quit trying.” -Unknown

I asked myself, “what exactly makes me an athlete?”. I work hard to improve my physical skills and fitness. I try to maintain proper nutrition all the time but especially when training. I regularly participate in activities that would drain most people. I participate in competitions to test my skills and reach new goals.

Webster’s definition is : a person who is trained or skilled in exercises, sports, or games requiring physical strength, agility, or stamina.

I believe that being an athlete is a state of mind. If you set goals and train hard to reach those goals, you are an athlete. If you are able to step out of your comfort zone and push the envelope just a little, you are an athlete. If you reach your goal and decide it’s time to go for another goal, i.e. get stronger or faster, you are an athlete.

Did I start out this journey knowing I would eventually call myself an athlete? No, I didn’t. I believe my passion and aspiration to become healthier and live a longer, fuller life led me to my love of running, exercise and nutrition.

I may never be another Lolo Jones…

But I will continue to be inspired by her, among many others. Those that inspire me the most are those female athletes that I have the opportunity to run with or interact with almost everyday! And yes, my friends, I believe you are all athletes.

So, yes, I will call myself an athlete! Do you?

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “What makes me an athlete?

  1. Hi fellow Sweat Pink sister! Thanks for the great reminder that we are all athletes, no matter what!

  2. That really is a great reminder that we all are athletes. When I typically think of athletes, I automatically go the the famous super-athletes and compare myself and think no, I’m not like them so I’m not an athlete. But from the actual definition, I am an athlete. Thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Sweat Pink sister! Thanks for following me on Twitter so I could find your blog! It’s funny–I was just thinking about this today…whether or not I consider myself an athlete. Great post! P.S. I love Lolo Jones too. πŸ™‚

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts on said:

    I love your thoughts on this topic πŸ™‚ I agree that much of it is a state of mind. It certainly helps keep me motivated and inspired when I think of myself in ‘athlete’ terms – it’s a boost to stay focused and make training and diet count.

  5. Great post girl! It is sometimes easy to forget that we are athletes especially when we see what these amazing athletes on the Olympics are doing. Thanks for the encouragement!!!

  6. Love it. Watching those amazing people in the Olympics makes me sometimes feel like I’m not a runner like that, but in truth we are all runners. Go us!

Leave a Reply

