Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

Death in my family

This is a quick post to let you know I got the call from my sister that my father passed away this morning. He suffered from lung cancer and COPD. I have not spoken to him in almost 9 years but my sister has kept me informed on his condition. My mother passed away two years ago and I was unable to attend her funeral because of consequence of my drinking. (If you have not read my early posts, I have been sober for a little over 2 years.) I have been given this opportunity to attend my father’s service to make peace with him and visit my mother’s burial site. I believe that this is all part of God’s plan for me and I will gladly do what I have to. I have experienced quite a bit in my sobriety and have been able to get through it with my faith and the love and support of my family and friends. I know I will get through this too!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Death in my family

  1. I’m so sorry to hear of your father’s death but so impressed with your efforts around alcohol and changing your life. I hope you’re doing ok

    • Thank you so much! Writing about it and sharing with others is one of my tools that helps to keep me sober. I had a few moments of crying yesterday, but I think it will not really hit me until I am there in front of my parents’ graves.

Leave a Reply

