Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

Going for next goal…

I have decided it’s time to move on to my next goal and become a certified run coach. I have researched this for several months now and really wanted to try it out before making the commitment. I was given that opportunity when my local running store approached me and asked me if I was interested in being the Saturday run coach for the half marathon training group. I said yes and I really enjoy it. Can you imagine doing something you really enjoy as a career? Crazy, huh?!

So far I have found a few different groups or organizations, if you will, that offer coach certification. The ever popular RRCA, Road Runners Club of America. Unfortunately, their certification courses are scheduled in select areas, only have 35 slots and fill up very quickly. The nearest location to me was New Orleans and that was full in a matter of days. You can put your name on a wait list but that does not guarantee you a slot if there is a cancellation.  I was informed to check the website regularly as they will announce the upcoming locations and dates. Another organization is the USATF, USA Track & Field. They offer a fundamentals of coaching online course along with 3 levels of in-class coaching certification. They offer many different locations throughout the year and there was one offered in Mobile, AL in June, so it looks like I would have to wait until June 2013.

I am registered to take CPR certification in about 2 weeks and have considered taking the online fundamentals of coaching course in lieu of waiting for the next available course locations to be revealed. I am patient and everything happens in the order it’s supposed to. I’m just trudging along the road of happy destiny, searching for my next new and exciting goals.

Have you you found yourself ready to accomplish something but then put on hold because of scheduling or other reasons?

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Going for next goal…

  1. Yes, I have and it stinks!! 🙂 Good luck with the certification class, I know you will do awesome!!!

  2. GREAT JOB STRIVING AHEAD!! this new journey will be awesome for you i am sure!! i know that feeling sort of, bc its been my goal to be taking a barre class or a yoga forever now, and i just havent “found the time” to get it set up yet! youre inspiring me to get my butt moving and do it now! SPA LOVE

  3. Sounds very cool! Good luck & have fun!!

  4. I don’t know what I would do if I had a career in something that I enjoyed – lol! I think getting certified is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

