Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

TGIF and sore muscles!

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you have had a fantastic week.

It’s been two days since I did a new crosstraining workout and I have to admit, I am still sore. My triceps and my calfs are saying, “what the heck were you thinking”! If you remember, I recently post how difficult it is to stick to crosstraining. Well, I decided to look, AGAIN, at a few exercises I can do at home and that I may actually enjoy. I am really interested in crossfit. Unfortunately, the nearest box is 25 miles from my home and right now (trying to stay on a budget) I can’t justify the drive and the cost when I can exercise at home. So behold, I found a WOD and thought I would give it yet another try. This one I found at WomensHealth.

It’s 6 exercises and they give you 4 different workouts to mix it up.

Total Time Do 10 reps of each exercise, moving from one to the next without resting. Complete as many rounds as possible in 15 minutes. EXERCISE ORDER: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Total Countdown Complete 60 reps of the first move, 50 of the second, 40 of the third, and so on, until you’ve worked down to 10 reps of the last exercise. EXERCISE ORDER: 2, 1, 6, 5, 4, 3

Total Rounds Do 12 reps of each exercise, moving from one to the next without rest. Complete five rounds and note how long it takes you to finish. Aim to do the workout faster next time. EXERCISE ORDER: 3, 4, 5, 2, 6, 1

Total Reps Complete as many reps as you can of each move in one minute each, moving from one exercise to the next without stopping. Rest one minute, then repeat the entire sequence two more times. Keep track of your total rep count (e.g., if you finish 20 lunge hops, start counting pushups at 21). Try to beat your grand total next time. EXERCISE ORDER: 5, 6, 2, 3, 1, 4

Wednesday, I decided to try the Total Time workout. I was able to do 3 rounds but boy was I pushing the last one! Those tricep dips were killer. Needless to say that, two days later, my triceps and calfs are still sore. And believe it or not, I like that feeling. That makes me think what I did actually worked my muscles and if I continue doing these exercises, I may see some results. So my plan is to do 2 workouts a week and see if I can continue for a month. I am determined to find some sort of crosstraining that I enjoy and can stick to!

TGIF and have a safe and fun weekend!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “TGIF and sore muscles!

  1. Looks like a great workout! I want to try CF too but, like you, I haven’t found anything close enough to be doable on a regular basis. For some reason I can’t comment via WP so I used my Twitter login.

Leave a Reply

