Life's Run

Journey of a mother, wife, runner..

The Transformation!

I selected this post to be featured on my blog’s page at Running Blogs.

This weekend I decided to tackle the boxes that have been sitting in our office since we moved into this house almost 9 months ago. Lots of papers and pictures and books. I found quite a few pictures that made me stop and stare. These pictures are of me from 2 and more years ago. I really don’t even recognize myself. Around this time, 2 years ago, I weighed in at 185 lbs. That is pretty close to my pregnancy weights but I was not pregnant. 😦 Two months prior to this picture I had hit bottom in my life and realized I had to make some changes right then or, well, I had to make changes. I quit drinking, I started to change the way and what I ate and I started the Couch to 5k program.

Me in 2010

I ran my first 5k in May 2011. By that time I had dropped 30 lbs.

August 2011, down 30 lbs.

Right after my first 5k, a very dear friend convinced me that I can do a half marathon. So the training began. I trained by myself and ran the Pensacola Half in November 2011.

Before the race, I was a nervous wreck!

I finished the race way better than I predicted and knew then that I would continue to run and continue to shoot for bigger and better goals.

Not only did I drop another 14 lbs in the last year, but my running continues to improve.

Left pic was in April and right pic was just a couple of weeks ago

The moral of me sharing my transformation with you is that if you continue to work hard you will see results. Do not get discouraged if you don’t see them right away. Just know, if you are feeling better about yourself than you must be doing something right, so keep up the hard work!

Single Post Navigation

26 thoughts on “The Transformation!

  1. WOW AMAZING!! It’s so great what running does for a person – not only the physical aspects, but the motivation to eat healthy and be a happier person! Way to go!

  2. That’s fantastic. You’ve made so many healthy, positive changes. You look terrific, and I bet you feel amazing too!

  3. You look amazing Regina!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Wow awesome and thanks for sharing Regina, great work girl!

  5. What a great story! You look awesome! I’ve learned the same thing along my journey- never give up, never stop. It’s so worth it!

  6. Congratulations on how far you’ve come, and how strong and healthy you’ve become!

  7. Wow! What an inspiring story! Congrats on your progress! What a great story!!!!

  8. You are awesome friend. Love your story. And it helps that you are great friend and a great training partner. I miss you. Hopefully we can race together again at some point soon.

    • You made me cry Anna Miller! I miss you and I am so thankful for the time we had together. I am also thankful to have you as a forever friend, no matter where we live! I look forward to running with you again!

  9. You look fabulous!!! Way to go! Spa love!

  10. You look fantastic- great job!

  11. WOW!!! What a difference!! You look great!! One day I hope to race with you!! Keep inspiring and motivating!! Sole Sista!

  12. Awesome transformation, and it is true, if you set your mind to something and work hard you can accomplish anything!

  13. Congratulations on such an incredible transformation! I love the running is good for body, mind and soul- it just makes you feel good, doesn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

